Nanjing Xianlin University Town (Xianlin New Area)

Nanjing Xianlin University Town and Xianlin New Area are located to the east of the Nanjing main city. Its construction was planned in 1995 and officially started in January 2002. It is one of the earliest university towns in China and covers an area of about 80 square kilometers. Nanjing Xianlin University Town is situated in Xianlin New Area, one of three new areas in Nanjing. This district is the key area where Jiangsu Province is developing the higher education industry, and a new urban area for developing education and high-tech industries. It focuses on developing tertiary sector industries, such as education and scientific research, culture and sports, recreation and entertainment, business services, and high-quality housing, as well as high-tech industries, such as research and development, and processing.

Nanjing Xianlin University Town now houses colleges and universities such as Nanjing University, Nanjing Normal University, Nanjing University of Finance & Economics, Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, Nanjing University of Chinese Medicine, Nanjing Forest Police College, Nanjing University of Science & Technology Zijin College, Nanjing Vocational Institute of Industry Technology, Nanjing College of Information Technology, Yingtian College, and Nanjing Technician College. It also has primary and middle schools such as Nanjing Foreign Language School Xianlin Campus, Nanjing International School, Experimental School Affiliated to Nanjing Normal University, Xianlin Middle School, and Xianlin Primary School. The total number of teachers and students in Nanjing Xianlin University Town has exceeded 200,000. It has become an important talent cultivation base in Nanjing.